Sunday, July 13, 2008

4.

I find it sad how if you Google the name of a book that's been made into a movie, the majority of the time its IMDb page will be listed before its Amazon one. What irritates me most, though, is how people feel the need to cash in on practically EVERY popular book by making a movie out of it and thereby ruining its original form. So many people, especially children, will probably just see the movie and feel as if they shouldn't bother to read the book having done so. This stems from my irritation at the Harry Potter movies, which I feel are utter crap (I adore the books). I understand that it's difficult to make a movie exactly the same as a book or to include all its facets and plot points, but FOR GOD'S SAKE,
Daniel Radcliffe could at least dye his goddamn hair BLACK. They ensure that all the Griffindors' classes are with the Slytherins', don't bother to have the wizarding population dressed in robes and it's apparantly perfectly acceptable for the movie's namesake to look nothing like he's meant to. The films should have a disclaimer reading: 'inspired by the books'. But I digress into geekdom.
I just think that this is a sad reflection upon society that novels are being simplified into movies constantly and as such develop the potential of losing their initial entertainment value. People are just getting fucking stupider. I've made it my goal to at least try to read the book before I see the movie, unless I'm completely uninterested.
/rant

No comments: